Tuesday, January 14, 2014

We're Naming Names

Last night, borough council undertook the annual task of making appointments to boards, authorities, commissions and committees.

No incumbent seeking re-appointment was turned away and none of those who currently hold no post and applied were selected.

First, and perhaps of the highest importance, was a five-year seat on the Pottstown Borough Authority, the entity which oversees operation, maintenance and upgrades to the water and sewer systems which serve not only Pottstown, but also Lower, Upper and West Pottsgrove.

Aram Ecker, who has just completed one five-year term, was re-appointed with only one nay vote. Councilwoman Sheryl Miller, who had also sought the seat, voted against Ecker's appointment.

For his part, Ecker, a local plumber, appeared before council and said he believes the current authority board is working well together as a team and has improved relations with the partners in the surrounding townships.

The next vote, for the Blighted Property Review Committee, crucial, as the name suggests, to fighting blighted property in the borough, the majority of which is located in the oldest section of town, the First Ward.

Appointed is the council member from the First Ward, Ryan Procsal, along with Councilman Dan Weand, former First Ward councilman Mark Gibson, and member-at-large, Cheryl Chiarello, who has been on the committee since it was created.

Vote on appointments to this committee, all of which carry one-year terms, was unanimous, even thought Miller had also sought an appointment to this group as well.

Ross Belovich, incumbent John Armato, and Susquehanna Bank employee Nicole Miller were all appointed to five-year terms on the Pottstown Downtown District Improvement Authority, which taxes downtown properties on High Street from York to Evans streets, and uses the money to clear snow and stage events to draw people downtown.

Also applying and not chosen was Mike LaBanca.

LaBanca also applied for the one open seat on the Potstown Zoning Hearing Board, a semi-judicial body charged with interpreting and providing relief from Pottstown's zoning code.

However council unanimously re-appointed Mark Patrizi to the three-year term.

Council President Stephen Toroney was unanimously appointed as Council's representative to the Pottstown Police Pension Board.

Councilwoman Carol Kulp was re-appointed as Pottstown's representative to the regional Council of Governments and Toroney and Procsal were unanimously supported for membership on the Pottstown Metropolitan Area Regional Planning Committee.

In addition to naming members of these autonomous and semi-autonomous groups, Toroney also announced his appointments to the various council committees. They are as follows:

  • Ad hoc committee on borough garage: Toroney, Procsal and Councilman Joe Kirkland;
  • Codes/Infrastructure Committee: Kulp, Procsal and Miller;
  • Finance and Administration Committee: Weand, Toroney and Council Vice President Travis Gery, along with Borough Manager Mark Flanders, Assistant  Borough Manager Erica Weekley and Finance Director Janice Lee;
  • Human Relations Commission: Mayor Sharon Thomas;
  • Keystone/Western Gateway Ad Hoc Committee: Kulp and Weekley;
  • Library Liaison: Arthur Green;
  • PDIDA: Thomas;
  • Pottstown Neighborhood Partnership: Procsal
  • Ricketts Community Center Liaison: Kirkland;
  • Safety/Fire Committee: Gery, Miller, Procsal;
  • Transportation: Kulp, Miller, Procsal.

No comments:

Post a Comment