Monday, January 6, 2014

Showing Their True Colors

The Pottstown High School Air Force Junior ROTC Unit's Color Guard at the PIAA State Football Championship game in Hershey.

Blogger's Note: The following was provided by Pottstown High School.

or the second year in a row, the Pottstown High School Air Force Junior ROTC Unit was invited to present the colors at the annual PIAA State Football Championship game held in Hershey.

The 17 member color guard unit marched into the stadium amid repetitious cheers of “USA Today!” from the crowd who waved American flags. 

This year’s color guard presentation was more ceremonial than in the past.

Game coordinators positioned the color guard between the referees and the team captains to witness the coin toss and immediately after the presentation of the colors. The entire ceremony was broadcast throughout the state of Pennsylvania through the Pennsylvania Cable Network.

The Pottstown Junior ROTC unit, which numbers more than 100 cadets, is led by Col. James Porter and Sgt. Alex Bolar. 

“I was pleased to see that Americans still hold the symbol of our country’s greatness in high esteem. It boosts the moral and the confidence of our color guard members when the onlookers of an event cheer to the American flag and for those who carry it,” Bolor said.

“Our commitment to produce well-rounded citizens of character, materializes in events such as the PIAA Championships. When there is an event where the color guard is needed, every member of the team wants to be there and participate,” said Porter.

The high school unit performs for approximately ten months out of the school year. 

Members of the unit’s color guard spend an average of 12 hours a week preparing for events so that, according to Porter, “the team can meet every call to perform with the same degree of exacting precision and excellence.”

The Pottstown High School Junior Air Force ROTC unit has received the International Outstanding Unit Award for 14 years in a row. 

Members of the Color Guard unit include: Nathan Fuerman, Chad Brown, Timothy Grassi, Alfredo Matias, Joey Gordon, Samantha Stotsenburgh, Savana Loveland, Givonal Mitchell, Angelina Schaff, William Rommel, Anthony Rivera, Nathan Kugler, Aaron Irizarry, Benjamin Habekost, Josh Stasik, and Andrew Strauss.

No comments:

Post a Comment