Friday, May 24, 2013

A Runner Named First Runner-Up for Dannehower Award

Ian Yanusko
Pottsgrove High School senior Ian Yanusko has been named as the First-Runner-Up for the William F. Dannehower Award.

As a result, he is the recipient of a $3,000 scholarship from the Triangle Club of Montgomery County.

Ian plans to attend the University of Virginia in the fall.

The award is given at the Triangle Club of Montgomery County's annual banquet

The club's 50th annual banquet was held on May 9 at Presidential Caterers in Norristown.

Yanusko was chosen from among 27 student athletes in Montgomery County, a list which this year also included Megan Schmidt of Pottstown High School and Natalie Marsh of Perkiomen Valley High School.

Yanusko was the lead runner on Pottsgrove's Cross Country team which won it's first-ever team title.

The Dannehower Award recognizes outstanding achievement in athletics, academics and community service.

The three top seniors selected are also awarded scholarships from the Triangle Club.

According to the club's web site, since 1964, no student from Pottsgrove or Pottstown High School has ever won the top award.

This year's top winner was Matthew Schulman of Wissahickon High School.

The Triangle Club of Montgomery County was established in 1963 to promote service, sports, and scholarship among public, parochial, and private high school students in the county. During the spring of each year, the Triangle Club honors the top scholar-athletes from all area high schools, at which time the most outstanding is selected to receive the William F. Dannehower Memorial Scholarship Award.

The award is named for the late President Judge of the Montgomery Country Court of Common Pleas, who assisted in the formation of the Triangle Club, and whose life exemplified the ideals of scholarship, sports, and service.

Each year, the Triangle Club awards three annual college scholarships. The winner of the prestigious William F. Dannehower Award receives $5,000, and their school is granted $1,000 as well. The first runner-up receives $3,000, and $2,000 is awarded to the second runner-up.

No comments:

Post a Comment